Elem. – I’m From

Gray, Jr, Gary R. I’m From. Illustrated by Oge Mora. Balzer + Bray, 2023. 978-0-063-08996-9. 32 p. $19.99. Grades K-3.

A boy starts his day as many kids across America do, with breakfast and getting ready for school. A ride on the bus and a, “you better hurry up” from his dad. I’m from doesn’t mean a location, but more of an answer to who am I? What makes me, me? The boy encounters racial comments at school that make him visibly uncomfortable, but he moves on with his day as any child would. All of the small moments of his day are depicted with Mora’s illustrations in her characteristic collage layered with various paint mediums.  

THOUGHTS: A must purchase, as much for the story as for the illustrations. Would be a perfect title to include in an illustrator study of Oge Mora.  Could also be used to introduce a unit on memoirs or personal narratives.

Picture Book 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *